This charming red lighthouse was built in 1892 on the east side of Agate Bay to help ships carrying iron ore to navigate the coastline of Lake Superior. Its 43.5 foot lantern was manually operated by the resident keeper until 1921 when the light was electrified. Since 1999, it has been managed by the Lake County Historical Society as a museum and bed & breakfast. However, it is still an active light, making it Minnesota’s oldest. The statue in the foreground is called, “Boy and Girl with Umbrella.” This wishing fountain was created in 1905 for the home of Thomas Owens, the former superintendent of the DM&IR railroad.