The Parish of Saint John was created in 1640. Five years later, the first Church of Saint John’s was constructed. A series of fires and especially hurricanes have repeatedly destroyed the locals’ place of Anglican worship. The current and fifth structure of St. John’s Parish Church was constructed in 1836. The architectural style is a unique form of Barbadian Gothic. After viewing the gorgeous wooden pulpit inside the church, venture back outside for an elevated view of the eastern coastline.