The Scottish Episcopal Church was formed in 1582. This magnificent structure, at the intersection of Princess Street and Lothian Road, was consecrated in 1818. The gothic design was the work of William Burn. He was only 25 when he became the architect for St. John’s. His enormously successful career spanned 60 years. The church was expanded several times during the 19th and 20th centuries including the addition of stunning, locally-crafted stained glass windows. St. John the Evangelist Church is one of three churches in the center of Edinburgh collectively called “Together.” The others are St. Cuthbert’s and St. Andrew’s & St. George’s West.