This church’s namesake and founder is Saint Cuthbert, a monk and bishop from the 7th century and the patron saint of Northern England. A chapel to the saint stood on this spot in 850 AD. In 1127, the church was granted the marshy land below the Edinburgh Castle (seen in the background in this photo) and a new building was constructed. The current, Italian Renaissance structure was dedicated in 1894 and serves the Presbyterian denomination. Saint Cuthbert’s Church is one of three called “Edinburgh Churches Together.” They collaborate on common causes while maintaining their unique identities.