16 Rue Saint-Louis in Old Québec City, Canada

Rue Saint-Louis is one of Québec’s oldest streets. There is plenty to see while walking the few blocks between Dufferin Terrace and the Parliament Building. Across from Château Frontenac is Place d’Armes. Originally called Grand Square, this was the site for military exercises beginning in the mid-17th century. Positioned here is the Monument to the Faith (Monument de la Foi). On the far right is the former Palace of Justice. Just beyond the flags is Maison Jacquet, the city’s oldest building from 1676 (now the Aux Anciens Canadiens restaurant). You will also find a gallery devoted to aboriginal artists (Galerie Art Inuit Brousseau). Nearby is the Ursulines Museum showcasing artifacts from the earliest teachers of girls in North America (1639). They also display religious paintings from the 17th and 18th centuries. And do not miss the elm with a cannonball lodged deep within its tree trunk.

VIEW MAP

42 Rue Saint-Louis, Québec, QC G1R 3Z1, Canada

Directions

Share this Photo