A fortified keep was one of the first structures in today’s Dresden near the start of the 13th century. Over the centuries, the rudimentary residence evolved into Dresden Castle. It is also called the Royal Palace or Residenzschloss because this was home to ruling electors (1547 – 1806) and kings (1806 – 1763). In 1871, artist Wilhelm Walther was commissioned to paint an elaborate mural outside the castle wall. The alleyway is called Langer Gang (Long Arcade). The 330 foot artwork shows members of the House of Wettin on horseback. This family dynasty ruled Saxony from 1423 until 1918. The Procession of Princes also had images of scientists, artisans and farmers. After the mural began to fade, Fürstenzug was recreated in 1907 using 24,000 porcelain tiles. Somehow this visual gem survived the 1945 bombing.