Parliament Building in St. George’s, Grenada - Encircle Photos

8 Parliament Building in St. George’s, Grenada

In 1974, Grenada became a sovereign state of the Commonwealth with the monarch of the United Kingdom as the head of state. Grenada and its six sibling islands have remained independent except for the period between 1979 and 1983. At the top of the government are a governor-general and a prime minister. The Parliament of Grenada has 13 senators and 15 members of the house of representatives. The previous Parliament called York House was destroyed by Hurricane Ivan in September of 2004. This new Parliament Building opened in 2018. Interestingly, the new Parliamentary chamber is shaped like a nutmeg pod, the island’s primary crop.


House of Parliament, Upper Lucas St, St. George's, Grenada


Share this Photo