Oxley’s Hotel provides a rare glimpse into Picton’s colonial heritage and is the eye-catching architectural gem facing the harbour. William Pugh built the Bank Hotel in 1870. In 1881, it became the Pier Hotel. When Francis Oxley purchased the property in 1899, she made major renovations and named the 29 room hotel after herself. In 2004, Oxley’s Rock Development gutted and rebuilt the interior. Fortunately, the Italianate Palazzo façade with its ornate lattice verandah was restored and is registered as a New Zealand Historic Place.