Since Mississippi became the 20th state on December 10, 1817, they have had three state capitols. In 1903, the “new” one was built with Bedford limestone in the Beaux Arts style on the site of a former penitentiary. Unique features are the lion heads and glass orbs on the stone finials. At the top of the 180 foot dome are 750 lights that illuminate blind justice. When each legislative session convenes, they turn on every light: all 4,700 of them.