History of Emperors at Forbidden City in Beijing, China - Encircle Photos

5 History of Emperors at Forbidden City in Beijing, China

In 1402, when Zhu Di became Yongle Emperor, the third ruler of the Ming dynasty, he moved the capital city from Nanjing to Beiping (today’s Beijing) and began building the Forbidden City in 1406. Construction by one million laborers required 14 years. 13 additional Ming emperors occupied Zijin Cheng (Purple Forbidden City) until Chongzhen Emperor was overthrown in 1644 and committed suicide. After a brief occupation by the Shun dynasty, the Imperial Chinese Dragon Throne was captured by Manchus forces and Shunzhi Emperor was declared the new ruler of China at the age of six. 10 Qing dynasty emperors and their government resided at the Forbidden City for 268 years, interrupted twice by occupation of foreign troops. In 1912, the imperial dynasty was defeated during the Xinhai Revolution (Chinese Revolution of 1911), marking the beginning of the Republic of China. Puyi, China’s last emperor, was allowed to remain in the Inner Court until 1924. The following year, it became the Palace Museum. The photo shows two of the five Inner Golden Water Bridges with the Gate of Supreme Harmony in the background.


Meridian Gate, Dongcheng Qu, Donghuamen Rd, Beijing Shi, China, 100006


Share this Photo