During the first half of the 19th century, the British Crown negotiated with the Māori people to buy land for settlement across New Zealand. The most significant transaction was the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840. The territory called the Ahuriri block (today’s Hawke’s Bay) was purchased in 1851. The new British acquisition was called Napier in honor of Charles James Napier, a major general of the British Bombay Army. During the settlement’s fledging years in the second half of the 19th century, this tract of land on the outskirts of town was a sports ground for cricket and football. In 1884, it was redesigned as a village green with gardens. This Edwardian water fountain was added in 1904. After the earthquake, it became Tin Town, a refuge and market for displaced citizens. As Napier recovered, Phoenix palms were planted and this lily pond was built in 1934. Today, the picturesque Clive square is encircled with five species of palm trees.