Government House in Hobart, Australia

During the early 19th century, Colonel David Collins had the distinction of being the first Lieutenant Governor of three British colonies that are now Australian states: New South Wales in 1788, Victoria in 1803 and Van Diemens Land (now Tasmania) in 1804. His governor’s house in Hobart was a shack. The second government house – which was located near today’s Franklin Square – was torn down in 1858 after the current governor’s residence in Queen’s Domain was finished. This Gothic Revival design by architect William Pordon Kay resembles a castle on its hillside perch overlooking the Royal Botanic Gardens. The 37 acres of the Tasmania Governor’s estate includes a manicured English garden.


7 Lower Domain Rd, Queens Domain TAS 7000, Australia


Share this Photo