Through the Victorian Era, most Canadian fire departments relied on volunteers. No. 2 Engine House is a classic example. It also has the distinction of being the first municipal station designed for hand-pumped fire engines. The firehouse operated across from King’s Square from 1841 until 1949. In 1991, this became the Saint John Firefighters Museum. The displays are fascinating. They include equipment from the 19th century plus informative exhibits about the Great Saint John Fire of 1877.