Danish Embassy in Reykjavík, Iceland

Iceland had a long history of being under Danish rule. From 1397 until 1523, the country was part of Norway’s overseas dependencies in the Kalmar Union dominated by Denmark. Iceland was then part of the Denmark-Norway Union from 1523 until 1814. After the Treaty of Kiel, Iceland was a dependent of Denmark until they became a sovereign state in December of 1918. Yet Denmark continued to represent its foreign affairs and provide military support until the founding of the Republic of Iceland in 1944. Today, Denmark’s presence is limited to the Danish Embassy in Reykjavík.


Hverfisgata 29, 101 Reykjavik, Iceland


Share this Photo