The ambiance was magical. The menu of Mediterranean cuisine looked divine. As dusk crept over the picturesque horizon, lights began illuminating historic domes. On the left is San Carlo al Corso. The basilica was dedicated to St. Ambrose and St. Charles Borromeo. Construction of the Baroque church occurred from 1612 to 1684. On the right is the dome of San Rocco. The church and hospital were established to care for bubonic plague victims. Chiesa di San Rocco was rebuilt in the mid-seventeenth century and is adjacent to the Mausoleum of Augustus. Historians have documented 56 domed structures built in Rome prior to the mid-fifth century.
