Bay of Kotor in Montenegro - Encircle Photos

1 Bay of Kotor in Montenegro

Montenegro, whose name means Black Mountain, is landlocked except for a stretch along the Adriatic coast. Near Croatia’s southern border is the mouth of Boka Kotorska. The 17 mile long Bay of Kotor was formed by receding glaciers from the Dinaric Alps. Some people refer to Boka as a fjord but it is actually a river canyon. This UNESCO World Heritage Site has four gulfs. Three of them – Tivat, Risan and Kotor – are surrounded by limestone mountains: Orjen and Lovćen. Nestled along its shores are serene towns. They are a joy to explore. This travel guide shows the highlights from Dobrota, Perast, Tivat and Budva.


Put I Bokeljske Brigade Dobrota, Montenegro


Share this Photo